top of page
  • Writer's picturelangemat

Double Deck Train Car (version 1)

Updated: Nov 2, 2023

This project, I started a few times already but never finished it because of different reasons. Now it’s finally done. Not 100% as I wanted but at least a good compromise, I can live with. Main problem was the availability of parts in the right colour. Originally, I wanted the model in dark green. But I figured out very quick that this is impossible. Even the normal green wasn’t possible. So, I did some research about other colour schemes for a double deck train car which would work better with Lego® bricks. And I found a reference in internet - only one but it was enough for me. The Polish State Railways (PKP) was using a double deck train car in blue/yellow colour design. Both colours are widely used for many Lego® parts.


The model above and the reference below, which I found in internet. A double deck train car of the Polish State Railways (PKP). I think the picture is from the annual big fair in East-Germany (MM). Luckily for me, both colours are often used in Lego®.


My finished model isn’t a 100% copy of the original. For example, the doors of my MOC are above the bogies, which you can actually find only on the Jacobs-Bogie version of such trains. Lengthwise, it just doesn’t work in Lego®, because the carriage would be too long for the curves. So my MOC is a mixture of two main designs - the single car and the “endless” Jacobs-Bogie version. So my model has the door and window arrangement from the Jacobs-Bogie version in a single car concept, which works better for Lego® trains, in my point of view. For me important was, that the colour scheme and car design exists (or existed) and somehow the design is reflected in the model, so the memorability is given.


My model has three train cars. A front car with driver’s cabin, a middle car section and an end car section. If you want to make the train longer, just add one or more middle car sections.


The MOC stats as follow:


3,205 different parts (without minifigures and their accessories)

194 different lots

Weight: 3000 g

Length: 177.2 studs

Width: 8 studs (with door rail 8.9 studs)

Height: 15.2 studs


The MOC has some interior as well, such as seats, tables, stairs to the upper level, driver cabin.


I provide a detailed step-by-step building instruction. At the end of it, you find an overview of all needed parts.

A print-ready sticker sheet is available too (in case the model contains stickers). I provide it in the widely used PDF-format in high-resolution and print-ready.

Furthermore, I provide the parts list in Excel format. This makes it easy to filter out needed parts and create order lists.


Disclaimer: I am not responsible for any damages or injury on parts and humans happen while following my instructions. Everything you do is your responsibility and under your personal risk.


Link to the instruction and sticker files:


Link to more pictures of the model:


Note:

I decided to create a R40 curve optimized version of the double deck train. The cars here are just to long for the tight R40 and with the hug overhang in the curves it looks weird. The modified version you can find also here:

376 views1 comment
bottom of page